Central High educator named finalist for national math, science teaching award

September 26, 2019

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Joy Hofmeister announced today three state-level finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

This year’s secondary math and science finalists are

Brigit Minden, Central High Public Schools

Cheryl Fentress, Bartlesville Public Schools

Casey Lambert, Moore Public Schools

“As demand increases for professionals proficient in higher math and science, exceptional teachers like Brigit, Cheryl and Casey are essential to preparing our students for college and successful careers,” Hofmeister said. “Their model for excellence shines a spotlight on education in Oklahoma and helps inspire others to enter the teaching profession. I congratulate them on receiving this well-deserved national recognition.”

Brigit Minden teaches high school math at Central High Public School in Marlow. She was the district’s Teacher of the Year in 2016 and was on the writing team for the Oklahoma Mathematics Frameworks for three years. Minden has been teaching for nine years.

“I am passionate in sharing that no one is ‘bad at math,’” Minden said. “Most people just haven't had the right experiences yet.” Minden said.

Established in 1983, PAEMST is the highest recognition a K-12 mathematics or science teacher may receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. Awards alternate each year between elementary and secondary teachers.

The finalists were chosen by a local selection committee of teachers, district-level personnel, representatives from higher education and past awardees. Each finalist demonstrated a mastery of math or science instruction and effective use of student assessments to improve student learning. Up to two Oklahoma finalists could be named national recipients of the award.

The national recipients represent all 50 states and U.S. territories. Winners will receive a paid trip to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities, a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and a certificate signed by the President of the United States.