Outlaw graduates ready for a new chapter

by Toni Hopper

Each of the 93 seniors that walked across the stage Friday night for Marlow High School’s commencement ceremony had their own personal story, but only the top three, Marissa Krautbauer, Whitney Wade and Avrey Payne delivered a short snippet of their high school memories. One thing they shared was the generous support provided by the community, the teachers and the friendships developed during their time at Marlow.

Payne noted that when he arrived in Marlow as a seventh grader, he was transferring in from a much smaller school and didn’t know what to expect. Wade also arrived in Marlow in middle school and reflected on those early years, in comparison to the high school years which included COVID-19 quarantine and missing time with friends at school. Krautbauer’s speech was more about the future and words of advice. Most evident from the trio, and their classmates listening and watching them on stage – all were proud to be Outlaws and members of the Class of 2023. Krautbauer plans to attend the University of Oklahoma to study meteorology; Wade signed to play basketball for Southwestern Christian University; and Payne signed to play football for Northeastern State University.

During the senior farewell speeches, a few faculty members appeared to have shed tears, and as diplomas were awarded by Superintendent Corey Holland, MHS Principal Bryan Brantley was beaming as if each senior were his own child. As per custom, Brantley had the honor of presenting the Class of 2023. And of course, there were plenty of audience cheers. For some parents it was their first child graduating and for others, the last. In the words of Krautbauer, “As sad as it is, the book known as high school has come to an end.”

Out of the 93 seniors, eight members of the class achieved gold chord status, and were in the top 10 percent for academics. They are noted below with an asterisk. Haley McKinley delivered the invocation, and Morgan Warren delivered the benediction.

MHS Seniors Class of 2023:

Marianne Nicole Anderson, Korben Henry Baker, Luke Harlin Banks, Jessie Lynn Bennett, Ali Ryan Blundell, Kyah Brianne Blundell, Brayden Ray Bowman, Jordan Tyler Brown, Bruce Alan Buckallew, Ian Patrick Cain, Maya Grace Cantwell, Brooklyn Autumn Castle, Amara Rosemary Conklin, Gabriel James Cooper, Ashton Lea Cox,

Ruby Jennittia Crow, Gage Daniel DaVoult, Kathrine Luella Diedrich, Easton Don Dittner, Marley Olivia Dixon, *Erin Paige Doughty, Bryce Mitchell Duncan, Kaitlynn Grace Ellsworth, Kylie Jane-Lee Fisher, Makayla Ann Fitzhugh, Keegan James Fullmer, Gehrig William Furr, Ariana Nichole Gomez, Karlee Vanilla Tambre Harrison, Parker Marie Hayes, Jarrod Kyle Herndon, Tyler Ford Hertzler, Ean James Hewitt, McKenzie Raylyn Holmes, Skielah Davae Jackson, Lane Kelleyhan Jones, Karsynn Dare Kelly, Cierra Paige Kirkland, Kendall Cathleen Kizarr, Kennedy Carol Kizarr, *Marissa Kay Krautbauer, *Marlow Renea Latimer, Ensly Chrissa-Ruth Long, Tonya Joy Mays, *Haley Rae McKinley, Riley Lynn Miller, Caden Austin Milligan, Sage Elizabeth Minyard, Dawson John Mullins, Anna Jolene Nelson, Alexander James Nowlin, Sean Ray Nunn, Emma Rose O’Hanlon, Fayth Marie Olsen, Payton Ryan Ortega, *Avrey James Payne, Cole Josiah Pettit, Yadira Yasmin Ramirez, Kenzie Grace Retherford, Braeden Alexander Rider, Daylee Grace Russell, Keenan Scott Simpson, Aidan Nikolas Singh, Caleb James Sloan, Cooper Dean Smith, Harrison Wyatt Smith, *James Harry Stout, Ruger Dawson Stuart, Talon Lee Sullivent, Bradley Wayne Summers, Brookelynn Renae Taylor and Buffy, Karsten Walker Terrell, Jillian Brooke Totten, McKenna Nicholle Travis, Noah Leigh Vanston, Marcel Tito Vaughn, *Whitney Olivia Wade, *Morgan Faith Warren, Treyton Blake Watkins, John Ayden Williams, Jacob Skyler Windsor, Abbey Grace Witt, Jaci Kay Woolwine, Brian Zhang.

National Honor Society Members are Maya Cantwell, Ashton Cox, Gage DaVoult, Kathrine Diedrich, Erin Doughty, Kaitlynn Ellsworth, Kylie Fisher, Makayla Fitzhugh, Gehrig Furr, Cierra Kirkland, Kennedy Kizarr, Marissa Krautbauer, Marlow Latimer, Ensly Long, Haley McKinley, Sage Minyard, Payton Ortega, Kenzie Retherford, Brookelynn Taylor, Karsten Terrell, Whitney Wade, Morgan Warren, Abbey Witt.

Junior Class Marshals presiding over the processional were Emma Samples, Cade Gilbert, Chesnie Stuart and Andrew Wollenberg.

OPA Award Badge
OPA Award Badge
OPA Award Badge