Area Baseball Players Named to 2023 Oilfield Conference Team

June 01, 2023

Central High Baseball Coach Jarrett Sparks released this year’s line of Oilfield Conference Team players which includes five members from Central High, three from Bray-Doyle and one from Rush Springs. CH players – Dirk Couch, Kutter Jackson, Luke Thrasher, Landon Johnson and Caden Covington; BD players – Brody Whitney, Carsen Whitehead and Ethan Fisher; and Rush Springs’ Aaron Chesnuh. The full list is below.

Walters and Velma were named Conference Co-Champs, and Craig Cohely of Walters was named Coach of the Year, and ACOY went to Seth Tinsley of Velma.

MVP went to Kasen Johnson of Walters.

Catchers – Karson Coleman of Walters and Jake Thomas of Velma.

1st Baseman – Cason Fulton of Wilson, Caven Kerns of Velma.

Pitchers – Dirk Couch of Central High, Collin Wharton of Wilson, Ashton Guinn of Walters, Treyton Torrez of Waurika, Kaeden Abshire of Velma, Easton Beck of Empire.

Infielders – Kutter Jackson of Central High, Haygon Jennings and Jacob Caveness, both of Rush Springs, Aden Torrez of Waurika, Cash Thomas of Walters, Tyler Williamson and Riley Abshire, both of Velma, and Caylen Fulton of Wilson.

Outfielders – Luke Thrasher of Central High, Aaron Chesnuh of Rush Springs, Cam Wiggins and Jace Riley, both of Velma, Jake Smart of Waurika, and Gage Sansome of Walters.

2nd Team Players/Honorable Mentions

Infield –Landon Johnson and Caden Covington, both of Central High, Malachi Dodson of Waurika, Jermaine Chasenah of Walters, and Braxton Lee of Wilson.

Outfield – Gage Sansom of Walters.

Brody Whitney, Carsen Whitehead and Ethan Fisher, all of Bray-Doyle were also named to the 2nd Team.